Posts Tagged ‘truck drivers’

Truck drivers celebrated during appreciation week

Monday, September 10th, 2012

Truck Driver Appreciation Week is dedicated to celebrating the service truck drivers provide.

As the nation prepares to honor and celebrate the millions of professional truck drivers delivering America

Truck drivers win big at championship

Monday, August 13th, 2012

Many truck drivers came together to compete at the 2012 Bendix National Truck Driving Championships.

The Grand Champion was FedEx Freight’s Don Logan.

This is the third win for Don at the national level, placing first in the three-axle class in 2009 and in the twins class in 2010. Don holds six state titles.

Logan is a FedEx Freight professional truck driver from Topeka, Kansas.

ATA’s Truck Driving Championships included top professional truck drivers from around the nation competing at state and regional levels to make it to the national competition Aug. 7-11 in Minneapolis, Minn.

Don’s driving skills and knowledge of transportation and truck safety information topped those of 425 other professional drivers from all across the United States in the National Truck Driving Championships, held in Minneapolis, Minn. The 75th annual “Super Bowl of Safety” is sponsored by the American Trucking Associations.

Don has logged 25 years as a professional truck driver, with over 2.1 million miles behind the wheel. Don began competing in his state truck driving championships in 2006, and this year he made his sixth trip to the National Truck Driving Championships.

Don also won the individual flatbed truck driving competition. Joining Don as champions in their respective classes:

Straight Truck: PA – Robert Dolan, Con-way Freight, Allentown, Pa.Three-Axle: MA – Roland Bolduc, FedEx Express, Windsor, Conn.Four-Axle: NE – Scott Stroup, YRC Freight, Omaha, Neb.Five-Axle: ID – Michael Grogan, Con-way Freight, Boise, IdahoFlatbed: KS – Donald Logan, FedEx Freight, Topeka, Kan.Tank Truck: KY – Brent Quire, Con-way Freight, Louisville, Ky.Twins: AL -Michael Umphrey, Con-way Freight, Decatur, Ala.Sleeper Berth: PA – Leo Flack, A. Duie Pyle, Inc., West Chester, Pa.Step Van: Edward Gertz, FedEx Express, Londonderry, N.H.

Don Logan succeeds Paul Phillips, a professional truck driver with Con-way Freight from Coarsegold, Calif., as the National Grand Champion.

Robert Sutton, a driver for ABF Freight System, Inc. from Boise, Idaho, was named the 2012 National Rookie of the Year after competing in the Three-Axle division. Xata Corporation is the sponsor of the award.

“The National Truck Driving Championships competitors are the best of the best – the safest, most skilled and most knowledgeable among professional drivers,” said ATA President and CEO Bill Graves. “I applaud all the competitors for their achievements and dedication to safety, and congratulate Don on his Grand Champion award which showcases his superior driving skill and commitment to safety.”